Marion Hollins To Be Inducted Into World Golf Hall of Fame PDF Print E-mail





ST. AUGUSTINE, Fla. (April 17, 2020) – Marion Hollins, one

of the only female golf course developers in history, will be inducted into

the World Golf Hall of Fame as part of its Class of 2021. Joining Tiger

Woods, who was announced last month, Hollins was selected through the

Contributor category for her impact as a visionary golf course architect

and pioneer of the game.

Winner of the 1921 United States Amateur and captain of the first American

Curtis Cup team in 1932, Marion Hollins’ influence on the game stretched

beyond the fairways of competitive play. One of history’s few female golf

course developers, she took a lead role in developing the Monterey

Peninsula into a golf mecca, which is now home to some of the biggest

tournaments in play.


“When you start reading about Marion Hollins, you realize what a trailblazer

she was,” said Annika Sorenstam. “In her era, she didn’t have many

resources with the status of women in sports and golf. To be that kind of

trailblazer with that kind of enthusiasm and energy and get into course

development and design is very inspirational. She was an advocate for

women and changed the landscape of the game.”


Credited with being the first woman to conceive and build a planned unit

development with a golf course as a central feature, she played a major

role in the founding and formation of two of golf’s most iconic courses,

Cypress Point and Pasatiempo. Hollins was a collaborator with Hall of Famer

Alister MacKenzie on multiple projects; he credited her for the design of the

16th at Cypress Point. She also developed a friendship with the legendary

Bobby Jones and influenced the development of Augusta National when she

traveled there on MacKenzie’s behalf.

Hollins is the second Inductee in the Class of 2021, joining Tiger Woods,

who was announced last month. The additional members of the 2021 Class

will be announced in the coming days.

“Marion Hollins is most deserving of this honor,” said Greg McLaughlin, CEO

of World Golf Foundation. “She was a principal force of the game, the

visionary of some of today’s greatest courses, and I am grateful that her

contributions will be celebrated as part of the 2021 Class and thereafter

in the World Golf Hall of Fame.”


About World Golf Hall of Fame

The World Golf Hall of Fame celebrates golf and honors the legacies of

those who have made it great. The Hall of Fame opened in Pinehurst,

N.C. in 1974 where a total of 71 members were inducted before moving

to its current location in St. Augustine, Florida in 1998. The World Golf

Hall of Fame currently recognizes 160 Members. The Hall of Fame is a

501(c)(3) nonprofit institution and is allied with 26 national and

international golf organizations, including the European Tour, LPGA,

the Masters Tournament, PGA of America, PGA TOUR, The R&A and

USGA. To learn more about the World Golf Hall of Fame or to lend

support, visit